8 March 2009

Delivered the prints on Friday to the NPG.

I met up with my friend Vicki (who, by an astonishing coincidence, edited my book ‘Home Entertainment’) which really made my day. After signing the back of these huge bromide prints in pencil whilst trying not to spill coffee over them in Pret a Manger we went to drop them off. I’d timed it perfectly as both the curator of photography and his main assistant were having lunch and so, as predicted, I handed the artwork over to another assistant. To make sure I remembered that I am an unknown photographer and not (yet) a celebrated artist, the assistant, just as we were getting up to leave asked, ‘sorry, your name is?’.

Here are the portraits:

ray-daviesa

Ray Davies

sanjeev-baskhar-feb-2002

Sanjeev Bhaskar

michael-nyman

Michael Nyman

keith-allen

Keith Allen

bertjansch-pete-001a

Bert Jansch

billy-childish-aug-2001

Billy Childish

pete-at-npg-by-vicki-hillyard

Me about to go in – photo kindly taken by Vicki.

No matter, Vicki, as soon as we got out the door into the sunshine, said that it was time for a celebration (in the form of a pint) and we headed off to an old Soho watering hole. These soho pubs look quite ordinary at first glance. The people inside them do too. But if you look and listen closely, as I can’t help myself doing, you find that these aren’t normal people having normal conversations. I heard about which authors penguin are planning to sign up (and the woman to sign them up was drinking lime juice and something) and how shoddy a certain terrestrial television company are when it comes to acquiring new talent. One of the ‘TV’ crowd then answered a call and appeared to be about to hire someone ‘great’.

Vicki and I had a chat about how we met on a plane to New York, in an effort to keep up.

What else? Umm… yes, went to stay over at my Mum’s which was lovely. It doesn’t matter how old you are, you still end up being fed, watered and cuddled without a thought to the fact you’re not 6 anymore. I love it. My two boys had a lovely time, they always do.

Also popped over to friends of ours where we used to live in London and helped clearing their allotment by having a bonfire and throwing everything on it.

This week back in Dorset I have a rehearsal with the band, a meeting about some work and some shelves to sort out.

You can keep your soho lifestyle, plodding about in a daze suits me fine.

One thought on “8 March 2009

  1. Hi there just stumbled across your page whilst wasting time reading about Billy Childish.
    Anyhow, really great portraits! Im currently studying photography at Bournemouth Arts Insitute, in my last year.
    Take Care xx

Leave a Reply

