Of interest to photographers

I’ve just been digging around amongst my boxes of prints and came across a 16×12 black & white photograph of a man called Will. The print was made on Agfa Record Rapid paper (no longer available) and it stopped me in my tracks.

I’m quite happy with the prints that I make on Ilford MG FB but, honestly, you may never know how deep a photograph can look until you’ve held it in your hands. I understand it’s something to do with the high silver content of the paper and that other papers are available today that compare: Ilford Gallerie to name but one.

It’s quite possible–and understandable–that you may only know photographs from their representation on the screen in front of you or from machine made prints made on reasonable looking paper. Even if I were to scan this print to show you here, I wouldn’t be able to show you what I can see.

All of this is very exciting from where I look. It means that for the images that connect with me on the contact sheet or on a preview scan, I now know that I can make an image to grab one’s soul and remind us quite clearly how important and interesting all our lives are.

Leave a Reply

