SCALE

Something I’ve been mulling-over for a while now is the idea of scale in a photograph.

Here are a couple of snaps of my eldest climbing a hill near us. The back of someone’s head doesn’t really make for a winning photograph I know but I had my youngest son under the other arm; and I’m lazy. What interests me is that it’s essentially the same photograph but one ‘works’ – gives you a sense of the steepness of the climb and the effort involved – and one doesn’t. It all appears to be to do with the scale of the subject in relation to the surroundings.

Leave a Reply

