VALLEY BRIDES

Valley Brides, Valley Brides, Valley Brides. I’ll explain later.

Last Friday we all did the Fin Gunn gig at the Arts Centre here in Bridport. Fin would have loved it. Isn’t it always the way. Good sound by Pete Wilson: proper monitor sound, mics and all the rest of it. I could get used to that.

Tuesday turned up a good one. I was invited to photograph a private party in London town (London, England). Long trip in the car, a hassle parking but it is what I do so stop moaning. I’m obliged to not go into the details of the party but what I will tell you is that David Hockney went to it. I say this partly to give the impression that I’m well connected, shallow and a name-dropper and partly because I was so excited to be in the same room as the man who, inadvertently, told me something very important about framing. I have an old book of photographs by David Hockney; this is work before the era of the polaroid joiners. In it, he describes how important are the edges and corners of your photograph. Until I’d read that book I think I was still approaching photographs by concentrating on the ‘bit in the middle’. To get the edges and the corners beautiful leaves you the icing-on-the-cake task of ‘moment’ to get right. Oh, you know what I mean. Also in attendance were Colin Firth and Martin Amis. Listen, it’s shallow but it’s my blog so… Anyway, RESULT!

Rehearsal with PM on Wednesday night was nothing but electrifying. It is only pop music I know but, man alive, we’re onto something.

I also had my Mum staying in Bridport for the week and it was lovely to have her around.

And… I borrowed a copy of A Woman A Man Walked By by P J Harvey. That woman is a living demonstration of how to let your sprit guide you. Amazing!

Laters.

Leave a Reply

